Cristina Amon est professeure distinguée (Alumni Distinguished Professor) en bio-ingénierie et doyenne émérite (2006-2019) de la faculté de génie et de sciences appliquées de l’Université de Toronto (UdeT). Avant de se joindre à l’UdeT, en 2006, elle a été professeure distinguée Raymond-J.-Lane et directrice de l’Institute for Complex Engineered Systems de l’Université Carnegie Mellon.

Également ICD.D, Cristina a été administratrice et conseillère au sein de divers conseils d’administration en Amérique du Nord et à l’étranger notamment comme administratrice indépendante de MKS Instruments Inc. Elle a présidé le National Council of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science in Canada (NCDEAS) et a été présidente fondatrice du Global Engineering Deans Council.

Pionnière du développement de la dynamique numérique des fluides appliquée à la formulation et à la résolution de problèmes en contexte de contraintes multidisciplinaires concurrentes, elle fait de la recherche sur le transfert de chaleur dans les systèmes énergétiques, les véhicules électriques, les semiconducteurs et les appareils biomédicaux. Ingénieure professionnelle, elle a participé à la rédaction de plus de 400 articles évalués par des pairs en éducation et en recherche.

Mme Amon a été maintes fois récompensée : nommée parmi les femmes les plus influentes au Canada et femmes de mérite par le YWCA, elle a reçu, en 2015, la médaille d’or de Professional Engineers Ontario et, en 2020, la médaille d’or d’Ingénieurs Canada en 2020 pour services publics, excellence technique et leadership professionnels d’exception. Elle est membre de l’Académie canadienne du génie, du Temple de la renommée espagnol du génie, de la Société royale du Canada, de l’Académie royale d’Espagne, de l’Académie nationale américaine du génie et de l’Ordre du Canada.

Née en Uruguay, Mme Amon a obtenu un grade en génie mécanique à l’Université Simon Bolivar du Venezuela, ainsi qu’une maîtrise et un doctorat en sciences au Massachusetts Institute of Technology en 1988.

Cristina Amon is Alumni Distinguished Professor in Mechanical & Industrial Engineering and Dean Emerita (2006-2019) of the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering. Prior to joining U of T in 2006, she was the Raymond J. Lane Distinguished Professor and Director of the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems at Carnegie Mellon University.

An ICD.D, Cristina has served as director and adviser on boards in North America and abroad, including independent director of MKS Instruments Inc. She was chair of the NCDEAS (National Council of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science in Canada) research board, and founding chair of the Global Engineering Deans Council.

A pioneer in the development of computational fluid dynamics for formulating and solving design problems subject to multidisciplinary competing constraints, her research is in thermal transport in energy systems, electric vehicles, semiconductors and biomedical devices. She is a professional engineer and has contributed over 400 refereed articles to the education and research literature.

Among her many accolades, she was recognized as one of Canada’s Most Influential Women, YWCA Women of Distinction, and received the 2015 PEO, and 2020 Engineers Canada Gold Medals for outstanding engineering public service, technical excellence and professional leadership. She has been inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering, Hispanic Engineer Hall of Fame, Royal Society of Canada, Spanish Royal Academy and U.S. National Academy of Engineering, and is a member of the Order of Canada.

Born in Uruguay, Dr. Amon earned her Mechanical Engineering degree from Simon Bolivar University in Venezuela, and her M.S. and Sc.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1988.